Unoffical empeg BBS

Quick Links: Empeg FAQ | RioCar.Org | Hijack | BigDisk Builder | jEmplode | emphatic
Repairs: Repairs

Topic Options
#229804 - 04/08/2004 00:07 Display Subnet in "About"
SE_Sport_Driver
carpal tunnel

Registered: 05/01/2001
Posts: 4903
Loc: Detroit, MI USA
With differant DHCP settings in Hijack for @Work and @Home, sometimes I have trouble connecting directly to the empeg depending on how it booted up. Looking at the subnet on both the empeg and whatever PC I'm using would help to troubleshoot sometimes... Maybe this could be added in a future empeg release?
_________________________
Brad B.

Top
#229805 - 04/08/2004 01:37 Re: Display Subnet in "About" [Re: SE_Sport_Driver]
mlord
carpal tunnel

Registered: 29/08/2000
Posts: 14478
Loc: Canada
You mean, something like this (try it):
Code:
[hijack]
;@MENUEXEC netmask y=`cat /proc/net/route` && echo popup 5 "netmask=${y:162:8}" >/proc/empeg_notify


Just stick that in the config.ini, reboot, and then select "Netmask" from the Hijack menu..

Top
#229806 - 04/08/2004 06:58 Re: Display Subnet in "About" [Re: mlord]
SE_Sport_Driver
carpal tunnel

Registered: 05/01/2001
Posts: 4903
Loc: Detroit, MI USA
Oh wow! Very cool! I'll give that a shot!
_________________________
Brad B.

Top
#229807 - 06/08/2004 15:20 Re: Display Subnet in "About" [Re: mlord]
SonicSnoop
addict

Registered: 29/06/2002
Posts: 531
Loc: Triangle, VA
Just out of curiosity I tried this copying it straight from your post into the config.ini when I try it I get:
netmask=00FFFFFF
_________________________
-D Modifying and Tweaking is a journey, not a destination................................ MKIIa : 60gig - 040103286 - Blue - v2 + PCATS tuner MKIIa : 20gig - 040103260 - Blue - v3a8 + Mark Lord Special Edition Cherry Dock

Top
#229808 - 06/08/2004 15:39 Re: Display Subnet in "About" [Re: SonicSnoop]
wfaulk
carpal tunnel

Registered: 25/12/2000
Posts: 16706
Loc: Raleigh, NC US
That's definitely what should be expected from that, but I don't really understand it. It appears to be the netmask displayed in hexadecimal reversed.

Your netmask is probably 255.255.255.0. That can also be written FF FF FF 00. Why /proc/net/route shows it reversed I'm not sure.
_________________________
Bitt Faulk

Top
#229809 - 06/08/2004 16:23 Re: Display Subnet in "About" [Re: wfaulk]
peter
carpal tunnel

Registered: 13/07/2000
Posts: 4172
Loc: Cambridge, England
Quote:
Why /proc/net/route shows it reversed I'm not sure.

Network byte order.

Peter

Top
#229810 - 06/08/2004 16:55 Re: Display Subnet in "About" [Re: peter]
wfaulk
carpal tunnel

Registered: 25/12/2000
Posts: 16706
Loc: Raleigh, NC US
I was thinking that would have been FF FF 00 FF, but I guess you're right.
_________________________
Bitt Faulk

Top
#229811 - 06/08/2004 20:44 Re: Display Subnet in "About" [Re: SonicSnoop]
mlord
carpal tunnel

Registered: 29/08/2000
Posts: 14478
Loc: Canada
Here is a somewhat fancier version:
Code:

[hijack]
;@MENUEXEC Netmask y=`cat /proc/net/route` && y=${y:162:8} && echo popup 5 "Netmask=$((0x${y:6:2})).$((0x${y:4:2})).$((0x${y:2:2})).$((0x${y:0:2}))" >/proc/empeg_notify


Top